Position: ECS Development Council

Position Description

Episcopal Community Services (ECS) builds Episcopal identity through strategic grant making focused on outreach. ECS reviews proposals for Bishop’s Annual Appeal funds awarded through ECS and oversees the resulting grant awards. Episcopal Community Services also reviews proposals and awards grants from the Church Home Fund.


Episcopal Community Services members serve for a three-year term. Lay members must be confirmed adult communicants of the Episcopal Church in good standing. Clerical members must be canonically resident in the Diocese of Ohio.

ECS meets every other month in full committee at Trinity Commons. Grant teams meet by conference call, as agreed upon by their members. Board members are also asked to make site visits to grant recipients and promote awareness of the work of ECS among our parishes and community. Board members are asked to make a financial contribution to the Bishop's Annual Appeal as they are able.

Gifts, Experiences and Skills:

The Diocese will benefit from Episcopal Community Service members who have a passion for outreach and commitment to working with other members of the committee.

Recent Accomplishments:

Episcopal Community Services has recently reassessed its prioritization of grant criteria with a new emphasis on grant making which supports innovation and a renewed focus on building Episcopal identity through strategic grant-making.

Continuing Members of ECS Development Council


Mr. Leslie Blakemore, St. Andrew's, Cleveland
Ms. Jacque Fertick, St. Hubert’s, Kirtland Hills
Ms. Cheryl Gray, St. Martin’s, Chagrin Falls
Mr. Steven Rucinski, St. Paul's, Medina
Ms. Anne Schwan, Our Saviour, Akron
Ms. Dianne Audrick Smith, St. Andrew's, Cleveland
Mr. Wiley Smith, St. Alban's, Cleveland
The Rev. David M. Bargetzi, St. Luke's, Cleveland
The Rev. Sarah J. Shofstall, St. Barnabas, Bay Village

Click here to apply for this role using the online Nominations form.

Candidates for ECS Development Council

Elect three lay and one clergy for 3-year terms and one lay unexpired 2-year term:


Mr. Stephen Ashby (Church of the Ascension, Lakewood)
Mr. Drew Gittins (Trinity Cathedral, Cleveland)
Ms. Chari Hettinger (Church of the Epiphany, Euclid)
Ms. Mary Shepherd (St. Paul’s Church, Akron)



The Rev. Daniel Orr (Grace Church, Mansfield)