Episcopal Diocese of Ohio Logo
The Episcopal Church offers digital access to Holy Week and Easter Services
The Episcopal Church invites all to virtually join the congregation of St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church in Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, for a rebroadcast of their 2018 Holy Week services with the addition of new sermons, beginning with the Maundy Thursday service on April 9 through the Great Vigil of Easter on April 11, 2020. On Easter Sunday, the Office of Communication will live stream the service at the Washington National Cathedral. Consistent with his call for churches to practice physical distancing at this time, Presiding Bishop Michael Curry, will offer his Easter sermon via a video recorded earlier in the week.  
 
Additional offerings include sermons recorded by Bishop Curry for Holy Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, and Good Friday.
 
Please see program offerings below for information on how to access each service or stand-alone sermon.
 
Regarding the decision to offer a rebroadcast of services, the Rev. Dr. Hillary Raining, rector of St. Christopher’s, explains:
 
“In this time of global pandemic when many of us are unable to attend worship in a physical church building, it is important to remember that Church is so much more than four walls. It is the mystical Body of Christ and as such, it can never be truly separated. Yes, we are physically distancing, but we are not spiritually distancing.
 
“For thousands of years, the Church has been walking the scared path of Holy Week following in Jesus’ footsteps to the cross, tomb, and resurrection. This year will be no different. Through these services we join again in that journey and will find ourselves rejoicing anew in the Pascal Feast.
 
“With the exception of the sermons, these videos were shot in 2018 by The Episcopal Church at St. Christopher’s in Gladwyne, Pennsylvania. Because of that, you will notice people not following the social distancing guidelines that we are now abiding by. Be assured that we did not put anyone at risk by trying to do live worship in large gatherings this year. We believe that these video worship aids will help us to enter into the fullness of prayer that the whole arch of this powerful week calls us to. Please feel free to add your prayers to these in holy reverence and worship as we join with Jesus in His Passion.”
 
 
Program offerings
 
Wednesday, April 8
The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
Gospel of Mark reading from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
7:00pm EDT | 6:00pm CDT | 5:00pm MDT | 4:00pm PDT

Video of Bishop Curry’s Holy Wednesday sermon from The Church of St. Luke in the Fields, New York, New York available here (posted by 12:00pm EDT.)
 
Thursday, April 9 – Maundy Thursday
The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
Maundy Thursday service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
Preacher: The Rev. Callie Swanlund
7:00pm EDT | 6:00pm CDT | 5:00pm MDT | 4:00pm PDT
 
Livestreamed candlelight vigil on The Episcopal Church Facebook page
With clergy receiving prayers in comments section
8:00pm-8:00am (Friday) EDT | 7:00pm-7:00am (Friday) CDT | 6:00pm-6:00am (Friday) MDT | 5:00pm-5:00am (Friday) PDT 

Video of Bishop Curry’s Maundy Thursday sermon from The Church of St. Mary the Virgin, New York, New York available here (posted by 8:00 pm EDT.)
(For information on viewing the Maundy Thursday service in its entirety, please visit The Church of St. Mary the Virgin website. The service begins at 6:00pm EDT.)
 
Friday, April 10 – Good Friday
The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
Good Friday service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
Preacher: The Rt. Rev. Daniel Gutiérrez
12:00pm EDT | 11:00am CDT | 10:00am MDT | 9:00am PDT.

Video of Bishop Curry’s Good Friday sermon from Church of the Heavenly Rest, New York, New York available here. (posted by 1:00 pm EDT.)
(For information on viewing the Good Friday service in its entirety, please visit the Church of the Heavenly Rest website. The service begins at 12:00pm EDT. The service will be replayed 6:00pm EDT.)
 
Saturday, April 11 – Holy Saturday
The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
Holy Saturday service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
Preacher: The Rev. Dr. Hillary Raining
9:00am EDT | 8:00am CDT | 7:00am MDT | 6:00am PDT
 
Great Vigil of Easter service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
Preacher: The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephanie Spellers (Recorded in 2018)
7:30pm EDT | 6:30pm CDT | 5:30pm MDT | 4:30pm PDT
 
Sunday, April 12 – Easter Sunday
The Episcopal Church Facebook page, Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page, and The Episcopal Church website
Easter from Washington National Cathedral
Preacher: The Most. Rev. Michael Curry
11:15am EDT | 10:15am CDT | 9:15am MDT | 8:15am PDT

Video of Bishop Curry’s sermon available here, following livestream.
 
Virtual choir video available here, following livestream.
 
People choosing to participate on The Episcopal Church Facebook page and/or Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page are invited to select each service’s Facebook Event option to receive a reminder shortly before the program airs. Facebook Event attendees will be able to comment and share their viewing experience with others around the world. Facebook Event links are available on the Episcopal Church website, the Episcopal Church Facebook page, and Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page.
 
All services will be available for on-demand viewing.
 
Find additional seasonal resources from The Episcopal Church and partners here and here.
Posted
Categories