Episcopal Diocese of Ohio Logo
Advancing to General Convention 2018: Legislative committee rosters announced
In preparation for the 79th General Convention of the Episcopal Church, the legislative committee rosters for the House of Deputies and House of Bishops have been announced.
The House of Deputies legislative committees were appointed by the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, President of the House of Deputies. The roster of the 26 House of Deputies legislative committees is here.  A letter from President Jennings to deputies and alternate deputies is here.  
The House of Bishops legislative committees were appointed by Presiding Bishop Michael Curry.  The roster of 24 House of Bishops legislative committees is here.
The Episcopal Church 79th General Convention, will be held Thursday, July 5 to Friday, July 13 at The Austin Convention Center, Austin, Texas (Diocese of Texas).
The Episcopal Church’s General Convention is held every three years to conduct the legislative business of the church.  General Convention is the bicameral governing body of the Church, comprised of the House of Bishops, with upwards of 200 active and retired bishops, and the House of Deputies, with clergy and lay deputies elected from the 109 dioceses and three regional areas of the Church, at more than 800 members. Between Conventions, the General Convention continues to work through its committees, task forces, and commissions.  The Executive Council of the Episcopal Church carries out the programs and policies adopted by General Convention.