Episcopal Diocese of Ohio Logo
General Convention Delegates

Clergy and lay members elected to this position serve at the 79th General Convention in 2018, or any Special General Convention between their election and the election of their successors.  At Convention, the deputies consider amendments to the church’s constitution and canons, resolutions on ecclesiastical matters and social issues, adopt a budget for the ministry of the Episcopal Church, and elect people to various national offices.  Clergy members must be canonically resident in the Diocese; lay members must be adult communicants in good standing of the Church in the Diocese.


The 2018 General Convention is scheduled for July 5-13, 2018 in Austin, Texas.  Deputies will need to be available to attend during those dates.  Deputies are also expected to attend deputation meetings held in preparation for General Convention.

  • The Rev. Debra Q. Bennett
  • The Rev. Evan Fischer
  • Ms. Jane Freeman
  • The Rev. Percy Grant
  • The Rev. Gay Clark Jennings
  • Mr. William Powel
  • Mr. James Simon
  • Ms. Diane Audrick Smith