Episcopal Diocese of Ohio Logo
Diocesan Council

Position Description


The Diocesan Council:

  1. Serves as an advisory group to the Bishop and the Diocesan staff on financial and other matters.
  2. Oversees the development of the Diocese’s operating fund budget and recommends the budget to Diocesan Convention for approval.
  3. Provides guidance and oversight for the Diocese between conventions.
  4. Works in committees to support Diocesan staff and Diocesan ministries.
  5. Serves as liaisons to parishes and mission areas of the Diocese.
The Diocesan Council supports the leadership of and connects parishes and mission areas to each other and the bishop and diocesan staff. Council members’ experiences in their unique contexts will help them provide guidance and oversight for the Diocese between conventions and discern how the Diocese can work with the Spirit to further God’s mission.

Council members may work in committees to support diocesan staff and ministries, oversee the development of the Diocese’s operating fund budget, and advise the Bishop and the Diocesan staff on financial and other matters. The Council also encourages, supports, and provides resources for mission area leaders.

Diocesan Council members should be engaged and committed to developing the mission of the Diocese of Ohio. They have interpersonal and communication skills and possess a general working knowledge of basic financial matters and the structure of the Episcopal Church. Members should also be committed to fostering the welfare of all parishes and affiliated ministries in the Diocese.

Diocesan Council members serve three-year terms, meeting approximately eight times a year. Some are elected by Convention, others are elected by Mission Area Councils. Lay Council members must be confirmed adult communicants of the Episcopal Church in good standing. Clerical Council members must be canonically resident in the Diocese of Ohio. Typically, an organizing meeting is held the first weekend of December (Friday-Saturday) *. Other meetings are usually held on the third Thursday of the months of January, February, March, May, June, September and October from 3:00 pm-6:00 pm. Meetings will occur either at Trinity Cathedral in Cleveland or Bellwether Farm in Wakeman.

In compliance with the 201st Diocesan Convention Resolution R-2, all Diocesan elected office holders are required to receive anti-racism training within one year of their assuming office.

Continuing Members of Diocesan Council

Mr. Raymond Cox, Church of Our Saviour, Akron
Mr. Hugh Grefe, Trinity, Toledo
Mr. Doug Skladan, St. Andrew's, Elyria
Ms. Diane Audrick Smith, St. Andrew's, Cleveland
Ms. Ute Lindenmaier Vilfroy, Trinity Cathedral, Cleveland

The Rev. Kelly Aughenbaugh
The Rev. Alex Barton, Church of the Redeemer, Lorain
The Rev. John Drymon, Trinity, Findlay
The Rev. Mike Floyd, Christ Church, Huron
The Rev. Rose Anne Lonsway, Grace Church, Willoughby
The Rev. Sharon Williams, St. Andrew's, Cleveland

(Return to previous screen to submit your nomination.)

Candidates for Diocesan Council

Elect two lay and two clergy for three-year terms: