Episcopal Diocese of Ohio Logo
Diocesan Disciplinary Board

Position Description

If there is a case involving potential Clergy misconduct, the Diocesan Disciplinary Board is the pool of individuals from which people are selected to serve as members of a Conference or Hearing Panel. The current Title IV canons seek to provide for appropriate and transparent accountability when clergy have committed some sort of infraction or misconduct.  It also seeks to be built upon a model of reconciliation and healing, as opposed to confrontation.  The Panel is comprised of five clergy and four lay members, each serving a 3-year term. 
The Clergy members of the Board must be canonically and geographically resident within the Diocese, have been ordained to the order from which they were elected for five or more years, and not be, either at the time of election nor the five years prior to election, under sentence or pastoral direction.
The lay members of the Board shall be Adult Communicants in Good Standing in the Diocese.
All Disciplinary Board members are required to complete training in Title IV matters, including the materials developed on the new website approved by the 79thGeneral Convention: www.titleiv.org.
Gifts, Experiences and Skills

  1. Facility to understand, interpret, and apply the canons of the Church.
  2. Ability to weigh varied and potentially conflicting evidence in discerning what has transpired, whether it is an infraction of the canons, and what an appropriate response might look like.
  3. Ability to base decisions upon intellectual analysis, even in an emotionally charged context.

Continuing Members of the Diocesan Disciplinary Board

Ms. Denise Caywood, St. Philip's, Akron
Ms. Rebecca Montague, Grace, Sandusky
Mr. Don Reed, Christ Church, Hudson
The Rev. Debra Q. Bennett, Our Saviour, Akron
The Rev. Julie Fisher, Christ Church, Kent
The Rev. Albert A. Jennings, St. Timothy's, Macedonia

(Return to previous screen to submit your nomination.)

Candidates for Diocesan Disciplinary Board

Elect two lay and one clergy for 3-year terms: